Known originally as the Camp Pendleton Ride, it was founded by Victor H. York of Whittier, Ca. and Colonel A. C. (Ace) Bowen as a means of promoting interest in the Annual Navy Relief Rodeo and Carnival at Camp Pendleton .

The Charter Trek, in 1959, with Major General Ridgely as Honorary Chairman of the Board of Directors, displaced campsites from Christianities Camp on Wednesday June 10th to Case Springs on the 11th, Camp De Luz on the 12th and Pilgrim Creek Camp on the 13th. They rode in the Grand Entry of the Base Rodeo Finals.

For the Second Trek in 1960 the cumbersome displacement of campsites was abandoned in favor of a single camp at Case Springs. Major General Shapley was Honorary Chairman of the Board.

The Third Trek in 1961 was at Pulgas Lake . Brigadier General Murray was the Host! Honorary Chairman.

The Fourth Trek in 1962 was again at Lake Pulgas , hosted by Major General Murray

This was the occasion of the famous mule race between General Murray riding Hal Haney's mule and Ace Bowen riding Bill Abernathy's mule in which General Murray won by a nose.

The Fifth Trek in 1963 was at Camp De Luz, hosted by Major General Masters. York died later that year.


The Sixth Trek in 1964 was at Lake Pulgas hosted by Major General Munn. As a memorial, the name was changed to the VIC YORK RIDE. Boyd Fury was elected President.

The Seventh Trek in 1965, hosted by Major General Cushman, revisited Case Springs.

The Eighth Trek in 1966, hosted by Major General Cushman was at Camp Talega .

The Ninth Trek in 1967, hosted by Major General Fields was at Camp Talega . This was the last Trek known as THE VIC YORK RIDE, and the Ride stood down due to commitments in Southeast Asia .


In 1971, President Boyd Fury and Colonel Ace Bowen were able to restart the Trek. As THE CAMP PENDLETON RIDE, to ride out in 1972.

In June 1972, the Trek, hosted by Major General Poggemeyer. Camped at Case Springs. Featured at the camp was the quarter mile race between a Thoroughbred and a Quarter Horse; Quarter Horse backers collected! On Saturday the Trek trailered to Pilgrim Creek Camp and participated in the Rodeo Grand Entry, then took seats as guests of the Base Commanding General.

The Trek was not resumed until 1976. Boyd Fury died in 1974. In 1975 plans were initiated for resumption of the Ride. Ace Bowen was elected President. CAP Crowl was made Secretary, and the Ride was renamed THE PADRE JUNIPERO SERRA RIDE to reflect a desire of members to broaden the horizons beyond the confines of Camp Pendleton . LA TORTUGA was adopted as the emblem in reference to the first Rodeo Cowboy Association name at its inception as "THE TURTLES".